Yred Love

Been running some DsWn taking the first god that isn’t a total waste and came across an early Yred altar. I’ve ascended new Yred a couple times, and I’ve gotta say they’re a-tier if not s-tier and should probably be recommended more to total newbs.

Anyways, I was tabbing my way through Elf when I stumbled into the Elf:3 vault. I had a few undead with me including a bound Learnean Hydra, but no way would I be able to fight my way through… I kinda tabbed into the room a few steps already and like 8 of them were within a couple tiles.

Fathomless Shackles and !attraction pretty much wiped them like a clean poop. Dealing with the dumb Necro Elf respawns was annoying but otherwise my HP was maxed out the entire time, and I had zero fear of dying. I dropped a condenser vane and some torch lights for effect, but even with no rf or relec Yred made my mistake a win. In hindsight, it would have probably been harder for me to clear it the traditional way with more risk of dying.

3 Thanks

I don’t think I’ve ever had a Yred win, and I’ve only tried out new Yred once. Could you give us some pointers on how to effectively use them?

Just for transparency… Looking at my history, I have 1 new yred win (EDIT: 2 new yred wins now :D, EDIT 2: 3 wins), 1 0.31 yred win(13% yred WR overall), and the other new yred run I was remembering as solid was a cosplay run (so extra challenges) that I lost in Zot.

This advice really only applies to a 3 or 4 rune game, but due to the nature of Bind Soul and demons being able to turn into ghosts Yred is viable for 15 runes. Also mostly applies to easy/noob builds and can be workable for moderate difficulty builds. I’d even say Yred can be used to win a challenge build but you need to have a good understanding of mechanics and support skills.